Louis Andriessen (1939)

Hout (1991)

pour saxophone ténor, marimba, guitare et piano

Informations générales

Date de composition : 1991
Durée : 10 minutes
Éditeur : Boosey & Hawkes

Quatuor [Quatuor avec cordes pincées]

Effectif détaillé
  • saxophone ténor, marimba, guitare, piano

Information sur la création

  • 3 novembre 1991, Pays-Bas, Amsterdam, Théâtre Frascati, par Loos.

Note de programme

Hout (Wood) was written for Loos at the request of Dirk Simons. Although the whole work is in principle a strict canon, the successive voices are so close together that it is more like a unison melody with ramifications.

Ramifications and branches are the same word in Dutch. This especially refers to the branches of a tree, so the use of wooden instruments - marimba and woodblocks - help explain the title of the work.

Louis Andriessen.