Louis Andriessen (1939)

Zilver (1994)

pour ensemble

Informations générales

Date de composition : 1994
Durée : 15 minutes
Éditeur : Boosey & Hawkes

Ensemble instrumental 1 par voix [Ensemble instrumental mixte de 5 à 9 instruments]

Effectif détaillé
  • flûte, clarinette, marimba, vibraphone, piano, violon, violoncelle

Information sur la création

  • 11 janvier 1995, États-Unis, Los Angeles, Modern Art Museum.

Note de programme

The idea behind Zilver was to write a chorale variation as Bach did for organ: a long, slow-moving melody, combined with the same melody played faster. The ensemble is divided into two groups: the wind and strings play the sustained melody in chorale-like four-part harmony, and the rest of the instruments – vibraphone, marimba and piano – play increasingly fast staccato chords. The two groups play in canons.

Zilver is one of a planned series of chamber pieces named after a type of physical matter. Hout (‘wood’) is the first, and Zilver (‘silver’) is the second. The title also refers to the two silver instruments – flute and vibraphone – which start and end the piece.

Louis Andriessen.